Jeremiah Has a Problem

Review of Book of Lamentations

Selma
5 min readJan 3, 2019

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I begin with a postscript, in the beginning, no less.

I was doing some ‘light reading’ of a book I’d been carrying around for a week (with no chance to read). “You Are What You Think by David Stoop.” At the beginning of the book I came upon a topic I was talking about with another writer here on Medium Caroline de Braganza, who recently wrote an article on Self-Talk. Impressed with the exceptionally great section, I read in my book, I started composing an article.

Jeremiah’s Problem

Try to see if you can diagnose Jeremiah’s problem.

Proverbs 23:7 — as he thinketh in his heart, so is he.

I am the man who has seen affliction under the rod of His (God’s) wrath; He has driven and brought me into darkness without any light; surely against me He turns His hand, again and again, the whole day long. Verse 1–3

What misery at the onset! But it doesn’t end there. Continue with verses 4–6 here:

He has made my flesh and my skin waste away and broken my bones. He has besieged and enveloped me with bitterness and tribulation; He has made me dwell in darkness like the dead of long ago.

--

--

Selma

‘Ordinary’ INFJ. Slow-Reader. Learner/Enthusiast. Nature-lover. Lives reverently in healing frequency. Believer: Miracles & Kindness. Writes for YOU 💗 No bling